Natalie (Talia) Jomini Stroud

Natalie (Talia) Jomini Stroud (Ph.D., Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania) holds the E. M. “Ted” Dealey Professorship in the Business of Journalism and is a Professor in the Department of Communication Studies and the School of Journalism and Media, as well as the founding and current Director of the Center for Media Engagement ( Stroud is a Fellow of the International Communication Association and the Annenberg Public Policy Center. She is one of the academic co-leads of a collaboration between Meta and the academic community to assess the effects of Facebook and Instagram in the 2020 U.S. presidential election. She also is collaborating on a project to re-envision public life on platforms through New_ Public. Stroud’s research has received numerous national and international awards, including the International Communication Association (ICA)’s prestigious Outstanding Book Award in 2012 for her book Niche News: The Politics of News Choice, the inaugural Public Engagement Award from the Journalism Studies Division of the ICA in 2019, and the 2016 Bill Eadie Distinguished Award for a Scholarly Article and 2011 Michael Pfau Outstanding Article Award from the National Communication Association.

Stroud’s research has been funded by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Press Institute, Arizona State University – News Collab, Bernard & Audre Rapoport Foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foudnation, Center for Investigative Reporting, Community Foundation of Greater Atlanta, Coral by Vox Media, CUNY Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism – News Integrity Initiative, Democracy Fund, Facebook, GateHouse Media, Google, Grey Matters Project Inc, Hearken, Impact Architects, Lenfest Institute for Journalism, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Mozilla Foundation, New America, Omidyar Network, Resolve Philly, Reuters, Rita Allen Foundation, Robert R. McCormick Foundation, Santa Clara University – The Trust Project, Solutions Journalism Network, The New York Times, The Washington Post, University of Missouri –  Reynolds Journalism Institute, Univision, Walder Foundation, William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, University of Texas Graduate School’s Academic Enrichment Fund, Moody College of Communication, and The University of Texas at Austin.